WORCESTER – The 2017 Municipal Election was certainly one to remember. However, there weren’t many changes to the look of Worcester’s new city council.

Mayor Joseph M. Petty has been reelected to serve his fourth term as mayor and his eleventh term as city councilor. Petty earned 70 percent of the votes in the mayor’s race in a land-slide victory over Konstantina Lukes.

The At-Large city council seats will be made up of incumbents Kate Toomey, Khrystian King, Morris Bergman, and Lukes. District 5 City Councilor Gary Rosen — who earned the second most votes — will take an At-Large position beginning in January.

District 4 Councilor Sarai River and District 3 Councilor George Russell will retain their seats.  As ThisWeekinWorcester.com reported earlier, Matt Wally will take the District 5 seat over challenger Paul Franco.

District 2 City Councilor Candy Mero-Carlson ran unopposed.

In District 1, Sean Rose narrowly defeated challenger Ed Moynihan by less than 200 votes.

Nearly 107,000 voters showed up at the polls on Tuesday and more than 16,000 votes were tallied.

Facebook Comments