WORCESTER – Seven Worcester firefighters will be honored on Tuesday at Mechanics Hall in Worcester for outstanding acts of heroism and bravery at the 29th Annual Firefighter of the Year Awards.

WFD members that will be honored are Lt. Timothy Ridick, Lt. Christopher Kelly, Captain Adam Roche, Firefighter Blake Perron, Lt. Patrick Moran, Firefighter Matthew Kane and Firefighter John Callahan.

“These seven Worcester firefighters exemplify the courage and fortitude found in firefighters throughout the fire service,” said Chief Michael Lavoie. “The Worcester Fire Department is proud and humbled by all of these unselfish and heroic actions.”

Lt. Ridick will be recognized for rescuing two occupants from a fire on Hamilton Street in February. Lt. Kelly, Captain Roche and Firefighter Perron will be honored for their rescue efforts in a fire incident on Green Farms Road in March. Lt. Moran, Firefighter Kane and Firefighter Callahan of Ladder 7 will be recognized for rescuing a victim from a fire on Oberlin Street in June.

“I commend Chief Lavoie, the entire Worcester Fire Department and all our firefighters for the tireless work they do each and every day to maintain safety throughout our City,” said City Manager Edward M. Augustus Jr. “I sincerely congratulate and thank the seven exceptional members of our Department being recognized for going above and beyond the call of duty in times of extreme danger and adversity.”

The event will take place at 10 AM and is hosted by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS) and the Massachusetts Department of Fire Services. Governor Charlie Baker, EOPSS Secretary Daniel J. Bennett and State Fire Marshal Peter Ostroskey will present awards to recipients from across the Commonwealth.

Facebook Comments