Is there a story you think we should be covering? Have a tip on something we should look at?
Contact Us

Worcester Municipal Election 2023 Full Results

By Tom Marino | November 7, 2023
Last Updated: November 22, 2023

WORCESTER – Unofficial results from the Worcester Municipal Elections show 24,585 Worcester voters cast ballots in the City, a 21.89% turnout. That is up from 17,304, a 16.54% turnout in 2021.

No city councilor at-large challenger was successful and all six incumbents will return in 2024. Thu Nguyen finished in the sixth and final position with 7,760 votes, nearly 1,600 votes ahead of the 7th place finisher Guillermo Creamer.

Mayor Joe Petty easily won reelection as mayor with just short of 50 percent of the votes with five candidates in the race. Petty receive 10,687 votes. Second place finisher Khrystian King received 5,877 votes.

In the open race in District 1 for the seat Sean Rose chose not to seek for another term, Jenny Pacillo received over 61 percent, the second highest percentage in district races only to incumbent George Russell, who received 75 percent in District 3.

Two district races finished close, but both went to incumbents. District 5 Councilor Etel Haxhiaj received 3,225 votes, 51.34 percent, against channelger Jose Rivera, who received 3,057. votes. The race in District 2 was also very close, with incumbent Candy Mero-Carlson was reelected with 1,553 votes, 53 percent, to first-time challenger Rob Bilotta’s 1,389.

The highest number of votes received went to Maureen Binienda in first race under the new school districts system. Binienda received 11,040 votes for School Committee at-large while . Sue Mailman received 8.539 votes for the other at-large seat. Tracy O’Connell Novick and Laura Clancy, both incumbents from the previous system, were defeated.

In District C, incumbent Jermoh Kamara was defeated by former school committee member Dianna Biancheria. In the only other race with more than one candidate, Kathleen Roy edged out Nelly Medina 1,558, to 1,460.

Those highlighted green below were elected.

Follow us on, the social network for Worcester and you!