Worcester Police Hold Annual Memorial Ceremony on May 21

 by Tom MarinoMay 18, 2023
Last Updated May 18, 2023 12:32 PM

WORCESTER - The Worcester Police Department hosts its annual Memorial Ceremony on Monday, May 21, at 9:30 AM.

The annual ceremony at at the flag pole rotary at Worcester Police Headquarters, 9-11 Lincoln Square, honors police personnel who died in the previous year. This annual tradition began  in the 1800's.

Worcester Police Chief Steven Sargent presides over the event, which includes a wreath laying ceremony and traditional  bell-ringing.

The ceremony this year honors the memory of:

  • Chief James Gallagher
  • Sergeant Philip Ohman
  • Police Officer Frank Breton
  • Police Officer Thomas Corsac
  • Police Officer Richard Costello
  • Police Officer Anthony Giustino
  • Police Officer John Kelleher
  • Police Officer Thomas Lessard
  • Police Officer Frank Mercier
  • Police Officer Edward Rodriguez
  • Police Officer Richard Sandberg
  • Police Officer Ann St. Onge

The event is open to the public.

Follow us on The016.com, the social network for Worcester and you!
Have You Seen Any Of These Children?
See children missing from Worcester County.

Latest News

Top menu