Worcester Teachers’ Union Re-Elects Roger Nugent as President

by | May 10, 2019 | News, Headlines

WORCESTER – The Worcester teachers’ union — the Educational Association of Worcester [EAW] — re-elected Roger Nugent as president for a second term.

The votes were final on Thursday evening with Nugent taking 57.8% of the vote (479 votes); well ahead of opponents Michael Patrick Lyons (21%, 174 votes) and former union president Leonard Zalauskas (19.9%, 165 votes). 

There were 11 write-in votes, and nine voters abstained from voting.

In a released statement, Nugent said, “I would like to extend my sincere gratitude and appreciation to all the candidates that participated. Your commitment and efforts toward building capacity within this union is remarkable and very much appreciated.”


Here is the list of candidates that will represent the union for the next three years: 

  • President-Roger Nugent
  • 1st Vice President-Saul Ramos
  • 2nd Vice President-Nancy Caswell
  • Treasurer-Patrick McKeon
  • Recording Secretary-To Be Determined
  • Elementary Chair-Christine Rovezzi
  • Middle School Chair-Melanie Gage
  • Senior High Chair-Melissa Verdier
  • Administrative Chair-Elizabeth Lupafya
  • ESP Chair-Deb Young
  • Vocational Chair-Robert Fairbanks

Follow us on The016.com, the social network for Worcester and you!

Recent Headlines

Facebook Comments

Follow us on The016.com, the social network for Worcester and you!

Patrick Sargent is the founder and lead reporter for ThisWeekinWorcester.com. He was born and raised on Grafton Hill and is a graduate of Holy Name high school and Worcester State University. Previous to starting TWIW, he worked as a contributing reporter for the Worcester Sun. Before that, over the course of several years, he had stints with GoLocalWorcester, Worcester Magazine, the Leominster Champion and Fitchburg Pride. He can be contacted at [email protected]